Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

As you may have noticed, things have been kind of quiet for us on the blogging front recently, with our weekly documentation of the weird and wonderful world of Public Relations apparently becoming the first casualty in the war on our 15,000-word dissertations. Not only that, we’ve also been juggling various internships, thankfully with (for the most part) great success. Conveniently enough, internships will be the topic of today’s long-awaited post. Contain your excitement, please. I thought it might be useful and/or entertaining for PR enthusiasts, novice and expert alike, to read about some of the stuff that I’ve been up to and hopefully get an idea of what it’s like to live a day in the life of a young, eager and increasingly adept PR intern.

 

My main internship over the last couple of months has been with a company called Fashion Rider (www.fashionrider.com). They’re a new but rapidly growing initiative based in Manchester, working with professionals across the creative sector. The roster includes designers, stylists, photographer and musicians, with a foray into modelling territory being the next imminent step. I really hit the ground running with these guys, assembling and distributing a full press pack on the organisation within my first month. Currently my days are spent making phonecalls and sending e-mails, capitalising on the interest generated by the pack and following up on any leads that we can use to boost the Fashion Rider profile. I’ve also written some copy for their website and taken over their monthly newsletter, which is a blast as it lets me hone my writing skills and flex my creative muscle.

The good folk at Fashion Rider gave me my first and biggest break so far. Thanks Guys!

The good folk at Fashion Rider gave me my first and biggest break so far. Thanks Guys!

(Image credit: facebook.com/FashionRideruk)

It’s through Fashion Rider that I came into contact with Sven Eselgroth (www.sveneselgroth.com), a photographer who needed PR-based assistance for an upcoming “project.” As it turns out, that project is pretty brilliant, taking the form of a Harley Davidson-led trek across Scandinavia in search of the region’s most dynamic fashion designers and brands. Sven is currently in the middle of the trip, and my role so far has been to generate press releases (writing skills. awesome) and then undertake the mind-numbing yet unfortunately completely necessary task of trawling through a massive database of journalist contacts and sending a personalised e-mail containing said press release out to each one individually (not so awesome). Happily though, a lot of people seem to have recognised the amazingness of this concept and so the response has often been super enthusiastic. Several publications are keen to feature the trip in some way, so hopefully I’ll be able to generate some content for them that can be added to my ever-expanding portfolio. Fashion Rider have had me writing weekly blog entries on the jaunt too. Cross-promotion at its finest.

Sven and his beloved Harley

Sven and his beloved Harley

(Image credit: sveneselgroth.tumblr.com)

 

Switching gears a little bit, I’ve also been lucky enough to land a couple of music-centric positions , with Manchester-based record label Longevity Records and Edge Recording Studio in Cheshire both taking me on in a PR capacity. Longevity is an up-and-coming DIY label, while Edge is a little more established and a little less rough around the…ahem…’edges.’ The nature of the work has been pretty similar to the stuff I’ve mentioned previously (blogs, newsletters and e-mails GALORE), but it’s been wonderful to get some bespoke experience in the music industry since that’s where my true passion lies.

Edge Recording Studio. Possibly the most picturesque studio ever

Edge Recording Studio. Possibly the most picturesque studio ever

(Image credit: facebook.com/EdgeRecordingStudio)

 

As a final note, I’m also going to be involved with the PR for this year’s Manchester Pride festival which is a bit exciting! I don’t know much about the specifics yet but it’ll be great to have experience with such a huge and well-recognised institution to put on the ol’ CV after all’s said and done. I’ll keep you posted!

 

All in all it’s been a fantastic couple of months. The cool thing about generating newsletters, blogs and all the other copy is that you actually get to see your work going towards something in the real world. It only seems like a couple of months ago that I was amateurishly piecing together my first theoretical attempt at a press release, and now I’m sending real ones out to the media AND getting positive feedback and coverage from them. Incredible feeling. But the best part has undoubtedly been gradually discovering that, the more experienced I become in the PR industry, the more confident I am that it’s exactly where I’m supposed to be. Just as well really considering I’ve shelled out four and a half grand plus to get here…

 

Adam

